Is everybody happy?

This weather blog has brought out a lot of discussion this winter about Richmond and snow.  Most comments have expressed dispair over the lack of snow, and the fervent desire to see some.  Well, we finally got it, to the tune of 5-10″ over much of central Virginia.   

So, are you ready for spring, or now that we’ve had a taste, do you wish we’d get another snowstorm before the season ends?  Share your thoughts here!

Posted by Jim Duncan

51 Responses to Is everybody happy?

  1. Hubarri says:

    I say good luck to Richmond. being that i am ten years old i never have experienced that much snow here in Conway.i believe that Richmound has it good on so may levels!

  2. David Burke says:

    Hello Jim…it is Dave and Linda from chesterfield (met you at Tobacco Company Saturday night) not real happy with the snow but my son sure was!! LOL It was nice to meet you in person (even though I did not get a birthday wish on 03/01) but we will still watch and we do understand corporate politics. Hopefully one day soon we will meet up again. All our best in the future. Dave & Linda

  3. Ericka says:

    This was a wonderfully beautiful and much-anticipated snow!! My family laughs because ever since I became a school teacher, we’ve had NO snow! Now I can finally put the teasing to rest and continue teaching. I enjoyed watching my 3-year-old daughter experience her first snow and took lots of pictures. Jim, can we expect one last snow before winter makes its exit?????????

  4. David says:

    It was great to finally see it snow a decent amount here in Richmond again — I’d love to see another good storm, but it’s getting a bit late for that, I suppose. Hopefully next winter will bring us another good snowfall or two.

    Then again, I prefer cold weather over the dreadfully humid summers and have no issues with driving in snow!

  5. harrison says:

    I enjoyed it while it lasted but i guess it cant stay for ever. Also I cant believe metro-richmond schools are open tomorrow with all the black ice that is going to be on the roads in the morning, and the school parking lots and bus ramps are covered in ice too.

  6. Flyin11 says:

    Ready for winter to be over! Hate cold and the snow was nice but it was a real pain to drive in for us adults. I’m ready for the 60’s and 70’s of spring and more importantly…Softball!!! I’m done with winter…I want to save money on my electric bill by not having to run the heat all the time!!!

  7. Karen Dolvin says:

    I am DELIGHTED!!!! As February left, I had given up on a “good” snow (which I had predicted to my family would happen this Feb.) and had begun looking forward to Spring when lo and behold! along comes this great snowfall with lots of sledding and snowball opportunities. Then to top it off, it’s followed by what sounds like a lovely warming spell this weekend! Couldn’t be better!!!

  8. FMG says:

    I LOVE THE SNOW AND IT WOULD BE OK IF WE HAD SOME MORE THIS WINTER

  9. hitnskins says:

    Words can’t express the joy i felt watching the first snowflakes start coming down on Sunday afternoon around 5pm….it was a feeling that came over me that is hard to put explain!! I tried to savor every minute of it that i could….i even found myself sitting outside in the snow, just trying to soak it all in. On Monday i played in the snow with my nephew, and i ran around like a little kid again……i really do cherish those moments, and the memories that come from them. I know it”s been a long time since we”ve had a good snowstorm, but in a way, it made me appreciate this storm even more! Hopefully it won’t be so long before it snows again!! Either way, thank goodness for this storm, and here’s to many, many more!!

  10. Mary Beth says:

    This snowfall was beautiful, and I would love to see a little more. It always makes me sad to think that I will have to wait about nine months in order to see it snow again. By the way, Jim, you really nailed this forecast!

  11. Stephanie says:

    Will Hanover or Goochland see another snow day?

  12. Randomizer says:

    The snow was very beautiful coming down. In my relatively short time in this wonderful city, I have never seen such a snowfall. However as a beekeeper (although admittedly not much of a botanist), I would prefer it stay seasonable. I hope my bees had enough stored to make it oer the last couple days as the hive was rearing brood last week. Maples were producing nectar for them to use to feed their babies. I don’t know if the recent freeze put a stop to that. I am hoping not.

  13. Christine says:

    WOOO! It was a great storm, and I am definitely a winter snow lover. I’d be happy to see another storm, but I’d be happier if the weather pattern for the whole winter went towards periodic snows rather than one big monster in March. But hey, I’m really not complaining. It’s been fun!

  14. Janet says:

    woohoo it was a good one!….well worth the wait….my only wish is that we could get this a few times a year instead of once every few years!….I am in no hurry for spring because I hate wasps!!

  15. DAC71 says:

    A great storm. Who cares how long it’s been…..at least we got 6+ inches out of this one. That’s something to be happy about.

  16. Matt says:

    Yea, everyone’s happy but this still doesn’t make up for all the lost years since a real heavy snow. nothing good since the new millenium

  17. Matt says:

    Everyone’s happy but it still doesn’t make up for all the years we’ve missed out on since 2000 when a foot fell. Nothing since then until now.

  18. Matt says:

    Snow total: 10 inches in Short Pump

  19. CAC says:

    Great snow! Finally! I loved the snow, I maid my snowman, well tried to anyway, went sledding, had a snowball fight, so yea I am happy. I hope we don’t have to wait another 10 years for another. I’m ready for more! Spring can wait!

  20. dave says:

    Shelly, yep, all of metro Richmond has another day off Wed. They finally plowed and sanded our neighborhood in northern Chesterfield (thank God because our street is a steep hill), but I guess there are still many roads uncleared and everything will re-freeze tonight. I love that the snow is still heavily blanketed on everything. Tomorrow it will really start to melt. But I’m happy it stuck around for a few days. Just one more freezing night of lows in the low teens…it was 9 degrees at my house this morning. Brrr. Go Snow – Richmond lives again.

  21. shelly says:

    Do you think Chesterfield, Dinwiddie, and Prince George will see another snow day?

  22. Valerie says:

    Loved the snow! I am VERY happy that I finally got the BIG storm I was wishing for!I know next time that I make a wish to also make sure I mention that I don’t want to lose power. Just got power restored today at noon since Sunday evening at 8:30pm. Burrrrrrrr!

  23. Sarah says:

    Better late then never! I really enjoyed making a snow man and now I’m ready for the warm up! Finally closeure to this winter 🙂 Looking ahead to the crazy thunderstorms around the corner!!

  24. Liz says:

    Very very very happy!!!!

  25. Anne says:

    I kept telling everyone that Jim was going out on a limb this year–he predicted and hinted that a good snow was possible the end of February/beginning of March. One of my friends told me, “You were right that Jim was right!” Thanks also to Andrew, Sagay, and Tom!

  26. Jenn says:

    John 11:40 “Didn’t I tell you that if you believed you would see the Glory of God.”

    It was so beautiful and relaxing yesterday, watching the snow fall. Finally a chance to stop, rest and thank God for all He gives us!

    Thanks Jim for the blog, I have enjoyed reading it all winter!
    God rewarded our patience!

  27. Karen H says:

    March Madness at it’s best! This one was a surprise too so that made it all the better (if I recall, the beginning of the week, the forecast was for rain and maybe a change over to some snow so no one got excited!) I’ve had my fix; hopefully spring is close at hand and maybe next year we will experience this a few times. Afterall, people need to learn how to drive in it. Great job keeping us up-to-date, thanks for all you do!

  28. Ellen D. says:

    Bring on another one!! Let the kids get as much wear out of the snow gear as possible, before they go growing out of it!!

  29. ryan says:

    excellent snowstorm, 12 inches in my backyard, now if we could not go 6 years in between large snowstorms that would be awesome…..heres to another day or two of beautiful scenery and then its time for the shorts this weekend, wow crazy weather.

  30. Shawn says:

    Yeah, I like the snow but I can’t play in the snow if it is 11 degrees. I really enjoyed the snow on Monday. It was a very good snowstorm.

  31. Oddny Anderson says:

    Me and the kids love the snow! BUT not the cold.
    AMELIA on Geneto has 2.2 F this morning at 6:50 am. BRRRR!!!

  32. MayMay says:

    Indeed I am Happy! This was the best snowfall I’ve seen in a while (since being back home in NY) and actually its the first snowstorm that I’ve seen since I moved here two years sgo. Mother Nature has come through! I’ve gotten my snow fix. Bring on Spring! LOL

  33. Joe says:

    We finally got a good snow! Man it has been a long time coming. It shouldn’t do a whole lot of melting until wednesday so it was a perfect snow. We got a solid 7 inches and it’s going to stick around for a few days. I will be ready for spring after those 70 degree days but I have renewed hope for next winter. Hopefully we will get some big January snows in 2010 that stick around for a while. I’m taking my three year old sledding in the morning and I hope I don’t have to wait five more years before we can do it again. Thanks Jim for the wonderful blog!

  34. CNC says:

    I was so happy about the snow that I went out last night to build my snowman! My two dogs enjoyed the snow as well. I would love to see another snow storm, they are always so beautiful. I love NBC12 🙂

  35. pcasey says:

    I caught myself many times todays savoring the moment. That’s my answer. I really hope we don’t have to wait ten more years to have another one.

  36. ^ A 77 year old who knows how to use the Internets?? I call BS.

  37. Louise says:

    I loved it, I am 77 years young, and even though I didn’t get to go out in it, it was beautiful and I just hope that people that don’t have their power and telephone will soon have it restored. Thanks for keeping us posted, you’re great.

  38. C & J says:

    Yes Jim, We are VERY HAPPY!!
    Just when we thought it was too late, in comes the most PERFECT SNOW… perfect SIZE – giant flakes… perfect TIMING – long weekend (no school)… perfect TEMP – stayed on the ground long enough to enjoy… perfect FUN – snow people, snow angels, snow boarding… perfect FUNCTION – should kill off the pterodactyl-squitos so they don’t carry me off while I’m gardening 🙂 Great job 12WeatherTeam keeping us informed.

  39. Kristin says:

    IT SNOWED and it lasted longer than two hours!! Just when I’d given up hope completely for ANY decent lasting snow and gotten ready for spring, Mother Nature delivered this BEAUTIFUL snowstorm! YES, I am ecstatic Jim. I could take another snow storm and be happy with it or I will happily move on to spring. At this point, I’ll be satisfied with whatever MOther Nature throws at us. Except hurricanes or tornadoes, you can keep those!

  40. Katie says:

    I’m very happy! I would love another snow storm!

  41. BJ says:

    A foot of snow out here in Powhatan, and I was silly enough to have sold both my ATV (with plow) and snow blower at the beginning of the season! Six hours of shoveling later, I think I’m ready for Spring.

  42. Stephanie says:

    This snow was great. Bring on another one! I am the type of person that really should be living further north. I am also a 4th grade school teacher so I’d like a week or so out of school! It either needs to snow more, or stay in the 70 degree range. Thanks!

  43. james says:

    Hopefully this is old man winter’s last brush with us this season, but glad snow lovers got this one. March snowstorms aren’t that bad, cause they aren’t around too long unlike what January ones can linger. Although a lack of snow until now, it’s been a cold winter and I’m ready for warmer temps, lower electric and gas bills.

  44. dave says:

    sorry…i meant two foot icicles. guess i got caught up in the moment. peace

  45. dave says:

    I’M HAPPY NOW! This was a beautiful storm. The snow is still a foot deep in areas, trees are still coated, and there are two inch icicles hanging from the house. I’m so glad I got to experience and take in this postcard before Winter was over. This is what it’s supposed to be like! And the fact that it will be cold for three days will be just long enough to let this beautiful sight last, and then it will be 70 by the weekend. Wild! So I think I’m good (until next year 🙂 Bring on the crazy Richmond thunderstorms and Summer time. Of course, I will not complain if we get a few more snows before Winter is over either. Thanks, Jim for the great forecasts.

  46. Maryann says:

    Down here in Sussex, we’d like to have a snow storm that gives us more than 2″ of snow (yep, that’s all we got). Our icicles are longer than the snow is deep. 😦

  47. Mike says:

    Jim, I have to have one more! I will take spring when it comes but this storm was a classic over producer, right down to the heavy last gasp snow showers today. I have my hopes for a moderate el nino next year. I know we don’t get all the cold we had this year with those but we need the return of Miller A’s. Congrats to you and your team on a great job on forecasting and coverage and on a weekend!

  48. Karen says:

    WOW what a season! I am happy with the snow we got. It can do whatever it wants to now. I am good until next year LOL. Thanks for allowing us to vent on here. This is fun!

  49. Logan says:

    I love snow! Richmond hasn’t seen much snow in the past 5 years and I love when school is closed. I am twelve and personally have not seen a really big snow lately so I am very happy.

  50. I would like delicious M&Ms to fall from the sky. The city would look like a rainbow, and it would never melt!

  51. Jeff J. says:

    The cool thing about this storm is that it was so late in the season when it looked like winter was basically over. It’s funny to see the extended forecast going from 9 degrees tonight to the 70’s this weekend. March truly has something for everyone. As far as wanting more snow, I’m not just a snow fan. I’m a weather fan so whether it’s snow or thunderstorms or rain that finally breaks a drought, it’s all good to me. Thanks for the blogs and updates Jim. They make it more fun.

Leave a Reply

