March roars, again???

Folks, I’m going out on a gigantic limb here, and will just pass along what could end up being wild speculation on my part, but I wouldn’t rule out another snowstorm this month. (I know, hard to believe given the current warm pattern).

From about mid-month and thereafter, things are already looking a bit suspicious for yet another deepening trough in the northern jet stream accompanied by more mid-winter like arctic air,  plus redevelopment of a pronounced southern storm track.  A little early, but still very interesting, so stay tuned. 

Posted by Jim Duncan

16 Responses to March roars, again???

  1. Grady says:

    Hey Jim go a little further out that limb and tell us what the weather will be like for the Ukrops Monument Ave.10K March 28th. How deep will the snow be?

  2. DAC71 says:

    Thanks Jim and the NBC12 team for your work this winter season. If we don’t get another snow; fine by me. This last storm was enough to tide me over for another year or so. 82 today! Can you believe it?!?!?! We had snow one week ago today, and now it’s 50 degrees warmer! Gotta love that Richmond weather. 😉

  3. Janet says:

    Thank you Jim for giving us winter lovers something else to look forward to!!….today was MUCH too warm for this winter lover and I am encouraged to know that more cool weather is ahead!

  4. pcasey says:

    I waited all winter for a snow storm. If I can’t have a white Christmas, bring on a white Easter.

  5. vtruss8 says:

    I sure hope this pans out. This last storm left me wanting more. We need a big Arctic trough to dip down the eastern Apps, and a huge low to form in GA and move up the coast, intensifying as it moves slowly north. Then a big High in Northern New England to slow the storm and we will get pummeled. One can only dream.

    Oh, and if anyone has a facebook account, check out http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=46568548837&ref=mf

  6. Shawn says:

    Is anyone going to post a comment?!?!? I’ve been checking the blog all day.

  7. Shawn says:

    MORE SNOW, PLEASE!!!! Bring it!!

  8. Jackie says:

    Please stay around Winter. I love the cold and snow! More snow!!

  9. Alicia says:

    I’ll take more!!!

  10. Jeff J. says:

    We ain’t scared. Bring on the snow!

  11. Joe says:

    Bring it!

  12. Ryan says:

    bring it on!

  13. Kristin says:

    OH LORD that would be my sister’s luck. She’s getting married outside at Maymont on March 28th. What on earth would she do if there was six inches of snow on the ground???

  14. Sarah says:

    I was really hoping that this past snow storm was going to be the end of winter 🙂 Wishful thinking I suppose. Why can’t we get snow in the winter months hahah, Richmond–go figure 🙂

  15. Sue says:

    NBC12 Weather team is pretty accurate about forecasting the weather. If it doesn’t snow by the middle of March I’m sure the team will catch it in time and announce it.

  16. KD says:

    Jim — thanks for the speculation. One thing I’d love to see from you and the NBC 12 weather team on the blog and the website is more in-depth analysis of what you’re seeing in the mid-to-longer term models for storm development. I think most of us that visit the blog like to live in the world of the possible, not necessarily just the probably. We want to learn more about what you’re seeing and why you think what you think. Thanks for all the excellent work during the storm.

    Thanks,
    KD

Leave a Reply

