Storm coverage

Severe thunderstorms are sometimes a threat around here, especially this time of year.  I’m sure you’ve seen the extended television coverage when this happens.  We have to walk a fine line between getting the important information out, and trying not to needlessly scare folks. 

What’s your opinion of how we’re doing… from biggest likes to biggest gripes.

Jim Duncan

33 Responses to Storm coverage

  1. Hal says:

    Warnings are important, but I’ve seen many times where someone is going on and on and on, presenting the same information over and over. When this happens and it replaces other programs, I honestly wonder what the point is. Can’t that be done with a crawl? One time (not recently) I remember missing the entire NBC Evening News broadcast because the storm report went on for so long — yet there was no new information. I was beginning to wonder who authorized these longer breaks and if the weather person on at that time was just doing it to hear himself speak.

    Please, tell me once if you have to break in. Then use a crawl or something, but there is no need to take 10 or 20 minutes or longer to say, “It’s raining hard,” or, “There’s a tornado report and here’s the danger.”

  2. martha says:

    No, please keep on keeping us informed, even if the wolf is crying. I need to know what may happen in order that I may plan well.

  3. MHenderson says:

    I think overall, you’re soing a great job keeping us posted on weather conditions. But it sometimes seems overbearing to hear more than is needed! Tornados are the hardest to call, however, if the watch & warnings expire or are cancelled, then coverage should also cease. Sometimes, it seems all about competition! If the rival stations are still on, then so are you. Then to catch a program we wanted to see, we have to arrange time at some wee hour of the morning to either watch or record. Oh well, its business, huh?

  4. SMarie says:

    I am pleased with the amount of coverage that is given to storms in the viewing area. Growing up in the Bon Air area of town in the 70’s and 80’s, it seems we had thunderstorms at least once a week and not much forewarning except what granny taught us. With the development of new technology, we now have at least a better idea of impending bad weather based on something other than “the air tastes funny” or “the leaves are showing the under side”,both of which proved to be indicators of an approaching storm more often than not. How else would we have known to ride our bikes home? Even so, now 30 years later, I prefer the doppler radar on the screen and Jim telling us what we may expect. The weather is going to do as it pleases- even granny was wrong at times! But armed with better knowledge has saved my deck furniture and had us flashlight-ready more than once. Thanks!

  5. Barbara says:

    I love the amount of coverage you provide. I think your station gives a good balance of clear information without scaring people into watching. Every time I compare your coverage to wtvr they are always exaggerating the severe weather threat and scaring people. I think you provide clear coverage but are calming while reporting only the facts that we need to stay informed. Thanks so much for the prompt and informative coverage. Keep up the great job!

  6. harrison says:

    I think its better to save a life than to watch a TV show!

  7. nbc12weather says:

    Our policy is to provide extended/continuous storm coverage for situations that are potentially life-threatening. Yes, we risk angering many of our viewers by doing this.

  8. David says:

    I would like to say you did a good job of reporting the recent weather conditions. I do have a question… Was it really necessary to have an entire hour and a half of nothing but weather conditions? I only ask because we moved here (Midlothian) from Chesapeake and the weather reporters there did interrupt the show that was on at the time but went right back to the show. I have never seen the show totally cancelled due to the weather there. Mind you, we always had serious storms there especially hurricanes. I am only trying to get some clarity as to the reasoning. If this is going to happen with every storm, I guess we should all give up on the T.V. unless we want to see the weather channel on our local stations.

  9. Chris says:

    I think you did a great job covering storms last night. Once the tornado warnings ceased, is when regular programming resumed. Also, you then had brief updates about every 30 minutes after that, until I finally felt safe to get some sleep.

    If anyone had a tornado come near their house (I have, in April 2008) and you had not been on the air to report it, they would then complain that they had no idea it was coming. I don’t think you can make everyone happy. People that are interested in weather or those that might get nervous in these situations are interested, while other people just don’t care.

    One option might be to have the long term coverage over on Channel 12-2. I care more about the safety of my family and I watched the whole time, because storms can shift their course.

    Great job Jim.

  10. oldschool1982 says:

    I understand that there is a fine line t walk when reporting the current weather when it’s serious. Yet when you spend 45 minutes repeating the same information over and over and over and over again it looses it impact. We appreciate being informed yet at the same time we don’t need to kn ow what you are doing and how things work. It’s only importatnt to update folks and not bore us to death with information that is unimportant especially if you are in the middle of the storm. I doubt the people that are being affected at the moment can even see what you are reporting nor should they be in a position to be watching the TV when they should put in harms way to watch. For the rest of us you could break in under commercials and not take up the entire broadcast of a show that is in the time slot.

  11. Joe says:

    I feel that tonight you took it to a extreme, first off your ruined law and order for me. If the people in the area were not aware of the warning after the first 15-20 min they sure weren’t going to turn on channel 12 at that point. I feel you totally ruined my night thanks Jim

  12. Jolene Palmore says:

    Update your scroll at the bottom of the screen. Today when we had a tornado watch it ran continuously all afternoon (even after the NWS had scaled back the watch area).

  13. Dan says:

    I think at times the coverage gets to be too much. I hope that when you go all digital in June that you will move the continuous coverage to 12.2 and just do updates on 12.1.

  14. Cindy says:

    I always turn to Jim when there’s bad weather. I don’t like to be frightened if I don’t have to be. I always think the other stations use scare tactics to keep us watching. Jim’s reports comfort me. 😀

  15. Brian says:

    I do like the severe weather coverage.

    But it seems like in the past 5 years or so, we get severe watches/warnings all the time, obviously not NBC12’s fault. But, this is even when the storms are not that bad. I am speaking in terms of storms in my locale for which Warnings were issued…

    Back in the mid 1990’s you know when you got a Severe thunderstorm Warning you were in for a bumpy ride. You could expect plenty of lightening and strong wind.

    The worst storm my particular area has had in the past two years was a very bad lightening storm, but since the wind wasn’t so bad and no hail present, there was no warning posted. Of course it a storm that developed very quickly – It completely took us by surprise.

    I have been less than 1 mile away from a doppler indicated rotation during a tornado warning and look outside and it is just a heavy rain, no thunder, no wind, clouds not that ominous.

  16. Jolene Palmore says:

    Love it! I look forward to tuning you guys in when the weather gets threatening! Now, get rid of the monsoon & lets get to the standard Spring/Summer weather (with storms, of course)!

  17. I garden fruits nuts vegies. I would like a up to date report on the amount of rainfall. Year to date. Weekly, Monthly. I have even gone to the National weather service and cannot seem to find this info. Thanks

  18. AWG says:

    I think your coverage is great. I always turn to 12 when the weather starts to look bad..

  19. Big Daddy says:

    I want JIM DUNCAN to Be soooo Excited that he runs around and Smacks Gene Cox on the back of the head “Just for fun”…. Give me some Spunk Jim…You ROCK !!

  20. JoyofSpring says:

    Thank you for speaking the information that viewers can see. This way those who are visually impaired or blind also have access to the exact same info sighted viewers are gaining by looking at the radar. I like that you say what type of warning it it, where the storms are located and where they are moving, and it is road and county-specific. I know that it is captioned so that the hearing impaired also get the info. Great job!

  21. George says:

    I think you all have a good balance. It would be nice to have a channel on the TV (12-3?) that just had the radar when there is severe weather. That way we could quickly switch to the channel to see the condition of things in the area.

  22. Judy says:

    The NBC12 weather team is doing a fantastic job with the extended severe weather coverage. If you have ever seen an area that has been devastated by a tornado, you would definitely appreciate the coverage even more. I would rather be a little scared for just a little while than to be caught unprepared. I really like the way that you all can zoom right in on the storms right down to the exact road that a severe storm is on.

  23. David H., you really think they’re going to pre-empt their own commercials??! BWA HA HA HA HA HA HA!!!

    BTW, I’ll be autographing weather radios at the Fas Mart on Nine Mile Road this Saturday. Y’all come on by!

  24. David H. says:

    Unless it’s a tornado warning, please don’t interrupt prime-time TV. Or do it during “house ads” during a commercial break. Otherwise, you guys do a great job.

  25. harrison says:

    I think it is very important to have severe storm coverage, i love watching them talking back and fourth at each other too! If you had a tornado coming to your house I think you would rather watch weather instead of news!

  26. Chris says:

    I think the coverage is very important. I am usually tuned in, even if the danger is not in my county. Changes in weather happen quickly and I too have small children and enjoy watching the discussion as to if the storms are getting stronger, which way the are going, and so forth.
    I think the coverage is most important during tornado watches/warnings, but some severe t-storms can be very dangerous with lightning/hail/wind.
    I would never complain of there being “too much coverage”.

  27. Kare says:

    In my opinion, knowledge is power. I like knowing when strong/severe storms are approaching. I have two small children at home, and I feel safer knowing what is going on. I can decide a head of time if I need to bring them downstairs, or if they will be okay upstairs in their bed. The storm coverage has also sparked some interesting weather conversations with my four year old.

  28. I enjoy it when three weather guessers try to talk over each other and only one of them has his microphone turned on. Good stuff!

  29. Jeff J. says:

    I remember how the Colonial Heights tornado in ’93 took many people by surprise so I think it’s better to be over-cautious than unprepared.

Leave a Reply

