Wierd summer

There’s no denying that this has been one of our more unusual summers.  A huge upper-level low has been in place for the past several weeks over Ontario Canada.  Part of this pattern anomaly has been a large southward displacement of the jet stream over the Eastern U.S.  

The result has been a generally cool summer, with frequent cold frontal passages, bouts of strong to severe storms with each front,  followed by sunny and cool weather,  then the cycle repeats.

Now we have a new spin on things.  Moisture running northward from the Atlantic is being thrown into the mix.  The resultant clouds and numerous showers, also accompanied by cool temperatures, will prevail for much of this third week of July.

I never thought I’d say this, but I crave a little bit of “normal”  Richmond summer weather; heat, humidity, and more of the sun.

Posted by Jim Duncan

9 Responses to Wierd summer

  1. Just testing says:

    Weird. nor Wierd. Dude.

  2. Yankee01 says:

    WYN, I’m with you.. I have said many times over that if this were a normal summer in VA I would be sooo happy… This has been a very pleasant summer so far and I’m hoping for a continuation into the “dog days” in August.. maybe this will mean some good snow this winter too. I have yet to see any since I’ve been in VA as I was gone in March when the snow came threw then.. Of course it would be nice if the snow would make an appearance in Dec and Jan!

  3. wyn says:

    Sorry Jim but I’m pleasantly surprised and happy with the nice rain and lower temperatures. Good for raft trips down the James(although part of the James River Clean-up had to be moved away from the James due to high water)and less watering from my rain barrels for trees,wildflowers and vegtables.

  4. Amy says:

    Wanting a sizzling hot summer? I think that is just CRAZY! Unless you are able to spend all your time in a pool or at a breezy beach…the choking heat and humidity isn’t worth it!

  5. Matt Denardo says:

    You’re not the only one who has been craving a little “normal” summer Richmond weather Jim, i have too. Do you Remember those summer days of either 2001 or 2002 i believe? When those temperatures reached an actual high of over 100 degrees with Heat indexes of around 115 to 120 degrees fahrenhiet. I want this summer to be like that too. I want it to become sizzling HOT. Sizzzling!

  6. dave says:

    No thanks. I’ll take the cooler temps and rain instead. Although for this week having supposed to have been so rainy, we barely got anything yesterday at our house in Chesterfield and then the next chance isn’t till Thurs. That’s not really that rainy at all. We’ve had more rain on days where there was a 20% chance.

    • Joyce says:

      Dave, I am with you.
      Being a native Virginian for 48 yrs, the cooler summer we have had has been a blessing to me.
      Hate the humidity of the eastern section, so of course I am very pleased with the cooler than normal days we have been enjoying.

  7. Daniel says:

    I’ll take the heat and the sun, you can keep the humidity. Is it me, or have the weather forecasts over the past week or so been really vague about when storms will roll in and how severe they will be?

  8. TMWW says:

    Hi Jim, was wondering if you were going to post any news about the solar eclipse this week? Will Virginians be able to see the eclipse or is this one a “view it on the news” event?

Leave a Reply

