I hate mold

There.  I said it.  I hate mold; more specifically airborne mold that seems to be ever-present in central Virginia.  In my so many years of broadcasting mold counts (supplied graciously by VAPA), I have NEVER seen them low. 

Those counts have soared even higher than usual lately, due mostly to the recent rain followed by a spell of dryness.  Mold begins as a living spore in our dampened ground, then gets into the air when it dries out.

This is a common cycle in Virginia because of our wet climate (averaging more rain annually than Seattle!).  It’s something we have to live with around here, but we don’t have to like it.  My sinuses will attest to that.

Posted by Jim Duncan

5 Responses to I hate mold

  1. Jim Queflander says:

    Ok, is there anything we can do to help reduce the molds? Like a lime treatment to the soil perhaps? Perhaps a anti-fungicidal spraying similar to crop dusting to help lower the mold counts? I grant that some molds are beneficial for antibiotics, but for the most part I would believe those molds are harvested in controlled areas for medical usage.

  2. I want to know whose job it is to go around counting mold spores all day. Where do I sign up for that gig?? Mold doesn’t bother me in the slightest.

  3. Sirius...The Star Dog says:

    If it weren’t for mold…there’d be no penicillin… no cortisone…no alcohol…no Roquefort cheese…no soy sauce…and NO ANTIBIOTICS!

    Mold deserves our love and abiding affection.

  4. Kristin T. says:

    Amen Jim! My head and sinuses suffer terribly once they hit certain levels and higher than ever counts certainly explain the pain and pressure I’ve been experiencing lately!

  5. TodayIs999 says:

    I suffer from terrible mold allergies, so I’m constantly battling allergies throughout the year here in Virginia. You may have just answered my question as to why my allergies seem worse after a rain storm.

Leave a Reply

