Weather everywhere

The media landscape has changed exponentially over just the past couple of years, with weather following suit.  Information is so accessable these days, from so many sources through so many devices. 

Television, once the mainstay of updated weather information, is but one of many resources available to folks for  the latest forecast. 

So, how do you get the weather information you need?  Share your feedback.

Posted by Jim Duncan

12 Responses to Weather everywhere

  1. Sirius...The Star Dog says:

    Certainly no reliance on TV b/c…in general…they simply parrot the NWS (ref. 1/25/00)

    Gone are the days when most people had to turn to TV/Radio for their wx information…yet their presentations (point at temps, fret over 35° wind chills, lean on trite clichés – “make our way through the afternoon hours”; “dealing with x…y…or z”; moaning over rain) have changed very little giving viewers little reason to watch.

    NBC12 Wx Team would all benefit greatly by studying how Andrew does his segments. This guy knows enough to look upstream….talk about what’s going on locally…why it’s going on…and how it’s likely to change.

  2. fred says:

    i watch TV for the forecast and warnings. If i am at my desk and a storm is coming i will go to the internet to watch radar. Don’t trust newspaper for weather.

  3. Richard says:

    I usually get my weather forecasts from weather.com or wunderground but am unable to find accurate longrange forecasts. During the past month the wind has blown northeast almost everday. The northeast wind causes bad weather for fishing. I wish there was a way to determine when and if the wind will stop blowing northeast for an extended period of time.

  4. Jeff Bush says:

    I typically use the internet for current conditions, radar, and a glance at the forecast.

    But you can’t get the analysis or that “feeling” that local meteorologists give you on the news. Weather.com may say its going to rain on Tuesday & Wednesday, but morning/afternoon/evening news weather will tell you WHY its going to rain, give you more detail, and even their hunches from their experience with these type of weather conditions in this area (that wily rain/snow line during winter for example). You can’t get that from the internet. (well, besides coming to nbc12s weather page lol)

  5. Brian says:

    I still prefer to watch the weather on tv. If I need to see the radar while the weather isn’t on tv I check the radar on my phone. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been in the woods hunting and have looked at the radar on my phone as rain moved in.

  6. Sandra Gentry says:

    I’m another fan of Weather Underground. We work outside and our jobs depend on knowing if and when precipitation is expected, often several days in advance. Their hourly forecasts are a nice feature. I haven’t done a study to see just how accurate their forecasts are but I don’t expect 100% all the time… just a best guess. It helps us plan work schedules.

    And then I compare it to your forecast. If they differ very much, we go with the one predicting the least chance of precipitation. It seems to work most of the time.

  7. Russ H. says:

    I too use wunderground for doppler, the layers you can apply on the wundermaps are incredibly useful.

    For long term I consult the NWS and like to read the forecast discussions after looking at their forecast.

    I enjoy local tv news for the same reason as I go to NWS, the analysis provided.

    Henry Margusity’s blog at Accuweather is ususally full of fun model analysis. Although he tends to go big and falls short a lot.

  8. Mighty Dyckerson says:

    I stick my head out the front door. If it’s cold, I grab a jacket. If my joints ache, I grab an umbrella.

  9. Jimmy says:

    http://www.wunderground.com works for me and has a great doppler too.

  10. Adam says:

    I consider the weather forecast online to be more of a general overview to point me in the right direction, whereas if I want to know a more accurate timing of the weather (for example, when it might start raining), then I’ll get my forecast from the nightly news. Obviously the Internet is more convenient, since you can view the forecast and radar anytime, but sometimes it’s nice to hear someone talk about it as well. If I’m not planning any outdoor activities or trips, then I’ll usually just get my overview online instead of trying to tune into the TV at the right time.

Leave a Reply

