Record Low High Temperature

Thursday’s chilly weather was a record-breaker but it’s not the kind of record that grabs headlines.  It was a day with a record low high temperature.  Since records began, It was a coldest high temperature ever recorded on an Oct. 15 at RIC.  Not the biggest weather news ever but at least worth noting.

We’ll likely set another record today (Friday) with high temperatures for most expected to stay in the upper 40s.  Today’s record low max is 54

Here’s the note from the NWS Wakefield offfice:

RECORD EVENT REPORT  
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE WAKEFIELD, VA  
545 PM EDT THU OCT 15 2009  
   
..RECORD LOW MAXIMUM TEMPERATURE SET AT RICHMOND VA
 
 
THE HIGH TEMPERATURE AT RICHMOND INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT WAS 54 DEGREES TODAY. THIS ESTABLISHES A NEW RECORD LOW MAXIMUM TEMPERATURE FOR OCTOBER 15…BREAKING THE PREVIOUS RECORD OF 56 DEGREES SET BACK IN 1939.

8 Responses to Record Low High Temperature

  1. Sirius...The Star Dog says:

    It’s big news if it signals the dominant flow regime for the next few months.

    Nor’easters and blocking HIGHs to the north will get the snow crows flying.

  2. Matt Denardo says:

    Richmonds coldest average high temperature is around 45 or 47. That being said i highly doubt that we will get any -SubstaniaL- snow

  3. Kristin Thomas says:

    I love the fact that we are setting record LOW high temps., I prefer those records over too HIGH high temp. records. I’m ready for the cold and snow! Our house is invaded by ants every spring/summer and as soon as it gets cold the little buggers vanish! I’m also sick of mosquitoes overtaking our yard when the kids and I are outside. I’m hoping for a cold winter, I love snow and miss the good storms of my childhood. Bring it on!

  4. Phil Riggan says:

    Brilliant comments as always. At least Brian made good use of his time.

    I’m not ready for full-blown winter and haven’t busted out all the coats, sweaters and gloves for this cold snap. Bring back the sun….

  5. PappaPoopyPants says:

    In before deletion.

  6. Brian says:

    I’ve got a feeling that we are in for a cold winter. I’m a bow hunter and I welcome these cold temps, it help keeps the ticks and chiggers away from me while I’m in the woods.

Leave a Reply

