January thaw continues

The northern jet stream has taken a vacation back in Canada, bottling up all traces of arctic air well north of the lower 48.   This is unfortunate for snow-lovers, as the southern storm slated to hit us Sunday is following a classic “big-snowstorm” track, but there’s simply no cold air.

This warmish pattern will continue through early next week, with a gradual drop in temperatures from the middle to the end of the week.  However, even that cool-down will not be associated with any true arctic air.  Nevertheless, there is a sliver of a chance that it could be just barely cold enough with the next system for some mix or even wet snow.

The bigger picture hints that by early February we could see a rapid reversal of this mild pattern, sending us back into the deep freeze with potentially more snow possibilities.

Snow-fans, be patient.

* by Jim Duncan

23 Responses to January thaw continues

  1. Michelle says:

    Come on snow. I want to play outside and make snowmen with the kiddos!

  2. frank says:

    what is GFS? when will we get an updated weather blog? and when will the cold return. It’s winter, it is supposed to be cold.

  3. Matthew says:

    GFS shows rain/sleet on and off from 60HR TO 75 HR in henrico,va

  4. Mike says:

    I will say I did enjoy the snow we had and the cold was fine too. Don’t mind a bit of a chill…need some time the wear the LL Bean I got for Christmas. However, the nice weather we’ve had the past few days does give me a bit of Spring fever. It’s ok if it snows again but I also would not complain if it begins trending towards Spring.

  5. snowman says:

    I wouldn’t rule out a little snow from this storm at the end of week.

  6. Chris says:

    thanks for everything you guys do at channel 12. its not like last season when the first snow happened at the end of winter.

  7. Matthew says:

    watching a system 1st week in feb. for snow!!!

  8. ryan says:

    i bought new snow pants, i know it would jinx us, crap.

  9. Snowman says:

    Snow. Did someone say snow!

  10. Flyin11 says:

    BOOOO to colder temperatures again! This winter can’t be over soon enough. My electric bill already doubled because of the record cold a few weeks ago. Keeps up it;s going to make me go broke. It’s also caused cracks in the ceiling of my house because of the cold. Enough! I want a early Spring! Enough of having potholes forming, sand chipping paint off of vehicles, accidents, car alignments getting knocked out from snow. We had 10″+ from the last storm…That’s enough for me…

    • Sean says:

      I hear Florida is nice this time of year. Although, a good hurricane might cost you a little more than a cold snap.

      • Flyin11 says:

        I actually would move there if my work and family weren’t here in Central VA. The way it goes though. If I had to leave for a hurricane then so be it…

  11. Mighty Dyckerson says:

    I thought I thaw a puddy tat.

  12. joe says:

    Come on Feb. and colder weather.

  13. Lou says:

    i wish it would just stay cold or stay mild but the temperature constantly fluctuates especially during the winter but during the summer time it is guaranteed to be hot there will be no fluctuating temperatures in July or August it will be sizzling hot for the most part

  14. Shawn says:

    Matthew is basically saying that the GFS has us for snow on Jan 21. I wouldn’t believe this, the GFS has terrible long range forecasts. It always flip-flops. As far as I’m concerned, we don’t get any snow for the rest of January, but in Febuary, we get a couple of good storms (like Jim D. said).

  15. Matthew says:

    GFS 120 OUT KEEP THAT IN MIND PRECIP TIPE SNOW WEATHER FOR DATT 1/21/10 SFC TEMPS 25 – 30 DATA FROM F5DATA THE PROGRAM I USE.

  16. Eric Johnson says:

    I object to this, and would like to know who I should write to in order to bring back cold air and thus, snow.

Leave a Reply

