More snow?!?

Next seven days present more opportunities (or threats) for snow.  One on the very iffy side for Saturday with a deep southern storm track that will probably bypass Virginia, but the way this winter’s been going, don’t bet on it yet. Then a less iffy storm for Monday with an advancing clipper-type system. 

Iffy was a word drilled into our vocabulary lessons in ‘Weather 101’…try not to use it too often :).

As always, check for our weather updates on the main discussion page, and thanks to all again for the snow reports!

* Jim D.

83 Responses to More snow?!?

  1. Jason Endries says:

    Does anyone happen to have the radar loop from Wednesday? With that mini blizzard we got?

  2. Matt says:

    We may be under the gun for Snow on sat
    asfunction:_parent.group.openLink,http://weather.unisys.com/gfs/36h/gfs_pres_36h_inv.html

  3. Snow rocks says:

    I hope it snows 3 times a week until April just to make up for the lack of snow the past several years. It’s better than it being 95 and humid out.

  4. Ben Dover says:

    I disagree.

  5. vader1013 says:

    wow- where in the world are the moderators of this blog? I cannot believe the cruel and unkind statements that are being tossed around here.

  6. Sean says:

    You guys whine like children. We have had one of the greatest snowfalls ever and you just want to moan every time we come close to getting a hit. Most of you don’t even know what the 850 mb layer is, so shut up, please. Also, I think trashmen deserve a pay raise.

  7. Mighty Dyckerson says:

    No, ban “Snowman-Shortpump” for his horrible forecasts!

  8. Snowman-Shortpump area says:

    NBC12 team. Please BAN “mighty dickerson” IP address. Are you reading his comments!

  9. Matt says:

    Hardly no precip with monday’s system 0.1

  10. Jolene says:

    What has happened to this blog? I thought it was a weather blog…not a whining, name-calling, teacher bashing, weatherman hating stream of comments! Come on people, where’s your upbringing?

  11. ryan says:

    Bring on the SNOW! i want 12 more feet!

  12. Flyin11 says:

    The snow needs to stop. Sure it’s fun for the kiddies…but it’s not fun to shovel it and it has caused damage to my house I just purchased now as I have spots leaking in my roof from all the snow. 😦 Not to mention that my dad and I are trying to fix the 3 leaking windows I have in my living room and we can’t even do that because it snows every 2-3 days. We have a tarp on the windows and that doesn’t seem to be able to come down now for another month or so…until it stops. I’m sure people’s electric bills have sky rocketed from all the cold weather and it’s not fun for parents or adults there to get hit in their pockets in a already bad econcomy. Also, remember kids…the more you are out of school, the more you will have to make it up into the summer!! School for you could be into July!!

  13. Tim Luncan says:

    Teachers have had over a week off so far. I hope they remember this the next time they feel like whining for raises.

    • teacher says:

      Whining for raises?????? Last time i checked we are getting a 3-4% salary reduction.

    • iteach says:

      Don’t start with the teacher-bashing, people! It’s true that we don’t mind a delay, but I’m getting sick of the closing, as well. I love my job and miss the kids when I’m not working. I won’t even remark about the “whining for raises” comment.

    • Flakes-ShortPump says:

      Teachers touch the future. Now true…there are TERRIBLE teacher who DON’T deserve a raise, but teachers make it possible for everyone to get their jobs. People are stupid if they don’t think teachers are underpaid.

    • Marc says:

      You’re an idiot….

    • Jason says:

      That was really stupid to say… Why would you even bring those wonderful people into this anyways?

    • Cfield Teacher says:

      Shame on you for making such an ignorant remark. People who teach are college educated and selfless individuals. We certainly do NOT do it for the money or for the snow days. Perhaps you should try teaching for a week before you speak.

      • Mighty Dyckerson says:

        You’ve got a deal. I can take a nap while the kids take their standardized tests.

      • Marc says:

        Wow, “Mighty”, you and “Lunc-nut” were made for each other…just promise me you both won’t get together and breed.

      • Michael says:

        Mighty d., i just hope your not an adult because you need to learn to act like one. Im in high school and we act with a little more respect and maturity then you are.

  14. Emily says:

    I’m still not over the snow and yes, I shovel and yes, I’ve been cooped up just as long (if not longer since I refuse to drive in the snow even though I have a 4WD). It’s such a nice change from recent RIC winters. I love snowy winters and stormy summers so keep it up El Nino pattern!

    • Flyin11 says:

      You’re crazy!!

    • Snowbaby in Short Pump says:

      Me too, Emily !!

    • CreamyWhiteNougat says:

      I’m guessing you really don’t have anywhere important to go on a daily basis, do you Emily?

      • Emily says:

        To answer your question honestly and without the same negative attitude with which you asked it, no, I have not had anywhere important enough to go on the weekends it has snowed that I would risk driving in it. I work M-F and all but one of our significant snows have been on weekends. This week my place of employment was closed on the snowy day so again, I did not have to leave. I prefer to be safe from the roads and other drivers. Should I or my family have an emergency, I use the 4WD in my vehicle. Until then, however, I don’t get on the roads in the snow and/or ice. It’s a personal safety decision for which I make no apologies.

        So yes, on a daily basis I do have somewhere important to go. However, this season’s storms have not occurred during times in which it is imperative for me to leave and I consider myself lucky that I haven’t had any emergencies during these times. Have I canceled plans? Sure. But they can be rescheduled. If I MUST, I can drive in the snow, but thankfully I haven’t had to make that decision this season. I hope that answers your question more civilly than you asked it and you will reserve further judgment.

    • Flakes-ShortPump says:

      I agree, Emily!

      I have 2 jobs, but I still don’t care. I LOVE the snow. I have had many plans that have fallen through due to the snow, but it doesn’t bother me because I like to see the smiles on the kids’ faces as they sled down my street. I also like spending the time with my family.

      This doesn’t happen often people, so just enjoy what you have because it doesn’t show signs of stopping!

  15. Olivia says:

    Being a high-school senior at a private richmond school, the snow is beginning to frustrate us all!…snow used to be fun as a child the rare occasions richmond would get a big snow, but as a driver and a student (at a school that does not close often) driving is dangerous and scary! My street in a west end henrico neighborhood has never been plowed a single time since the snow storm in december! All i know is that next year I will be more prepared

  16. Mike - 23112 says:

    Any tips on how to turn golf clubs into a snow mobile?

  17. Broke DJ says:

    Enough already with the snow. Since the first snow storm in mid december, i’ve had 8 events cancel “due to inclement weather” That equates to thousands of dollars out of my pocket. That’s money my family is not seeing! That’s bills thats not being paid. Yeah, it sure looks “pretty” coming down, but it’s a big headache to a lot of small business’s like myself! No more please!!!

    • Jess says:

      Well said…I LOVE the snow, but I am a stay at home mom who depends on my husband to “bring home the bacon”…he owns his own business landscaping…going on 3 weeks of NO work!!!

      • Barry says:

        Most of the independent plowers are landscapers that just attach a plow to the from of their work trucks. There’s plenty of work plowing parking lots and such.

      • Jess says:

        Yeah, we have already talked about investing in a plow for future winters….

  18. WeatherNut says:

    So, you all laughed when I told you this back in December! Now whatcha say?

    WeatherNut Says:
    December 28, 2009 at 5:35 pm | Reply

    My sources tell me that we could see at least 6 more good size snow storms this winter. (with measurable amounts of snow)
    don’t put the shovel away just yet.

    o Matt Says:
    December 28, 2009 at 6:20 pm | Reply
    I’m afraid I don’t trust your sources.

    o Mighty Dyckerson Says:
    December 29, 2009 at 8:13 am | Reply

    My sources tell me your sources are full of crap.

    o J Says:
    December 29, 2009 at 1:06 pm | Reply

    6 storms… come on i’ll bet all my money we don’t have 6 more measureable storms

     Matt Says:
    December 29, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    I know. What is this nut talking about?

  19. ophelia says:

    Just a note to y’all… as a former florist, keep in mind V-day is this weekend. All of this snow has pushed back deliveries for the biggest week of the year. Sat. will be the busiest delivery day, so if there is more snow, your honey buns may not get their posies in a timely manner. Keep your poor florists in mind; about now they are freaking out!

  20. SnowyLove says:

    I am loving the snow, I’m loving the is it/isn’t it going to be 10″ in Richmond Metro and I love Jim Duncan (Since I was a teenager in the 80’s, but that’s not necessarily weather related :D). I hate the summer, the 95 degrees with 100% humidity, no rain, tornado warnings, sweating just stepping out of the shower…ugggh. I hope it snows right up to June!! LOL Winter people unite and wish, wish, wish for more snow!! 😀

    • wyn says:

      Thanks for the perspective. Had forgotten the negative effects of Richmond summer. At least I’ve been able to see where “my” racoons and foxes have been tracking.

      • SnowyLove says:

        Summer just lasts soooo long. It’s hot here now well into September and the heat starts as early as May. I’m loving every single day that I can go outside and get in my car at the end of the day and not pass out from heat stroke! 😀

  21. Sandyg says:

    Jim & team, do you see this below normal temperature pattern continuing for much longer? Is there any hope for a return to more normal weather anytime soon?

  22. Midlo Joe says:

    that wxrisk guy is saying FEB 15-16 looks snowier.. says several inches are possible in RIC area

  23. dan says:

    Now I get it. Check out the current location of the high and low pressure in N America. The continental polar high is spinning clockwise while the departing low is spinning anticlockwise and all is tied to the strong upper level low centered on the Hudson Bay. It is sooooo apparent that this pattern could persist indefinetley. Looks like thunder snow in July, folks. Better stock up on longjohns. And remember stick to your longjohns until they stick to you.

  24. Phil Riggan says:

    Crazy storm this morning. Schools are/were supposed to be off Feb. 15, but now a storm Saturday or Monday could wreck those plans. I’ll enjoy another weekend of work….

  25. ryan says:

    nice bring on the snow! i don’t care when and how much i love this!

  26. Michael says:

    WOOT! Bring on the SNOW!

  27. anne says:

    iffy humm I am getting sick of all this snow. jim. you are not telling me we are going to get more snow are you

  28. Owen says:

    jim said ONE of the tracks not all of them plus it is hundreds of hours away.

  29. Jolene says:

    So, big surprise this morning! I’ve seen quite a bit of less than friendly posts on here today. With that said, are we going to see a lot of “iffy snow chances” in the near future? Kinda a CYA from here on out til Sping?

  30. Chris says:

    Don’t let Old Man Winter break your will. Spring is not that far away….

  31. Tyler says:

    Jim/Andrew, how many more miles north will the storm on saturday have to creep up to just barely swipe us, or hit us real bad? If it stays on it’s current trend of moving north, will it be significant?

  32. Lisa says:

    Please, please. No more snow. Enough already.

  33. Annie says:

    BRB, packing my bags for the Caribbean.

  34. Dave says:

    This certainly has been a great winter for us snow people! I was a little surprised by the amount of snow this morning…but all in stride.

    I’d like to say Saturday would be great if we had more snow…but you know; I’m ready for just one weekend where we’re not shut in. So I’ll gladly take Monday over Saturday 😉 Monday is a holiday anyways!!!

    Good luck to all of us for this next wave of wintry goodness.

  35. Tristan says:

    Woot woot bring on the snow, man! lol. I love getting snow in Richmond. This has been an awesome winter.

  36. Liz says:

    Awesome! Thanks Jim and Andrew!

Leave a Reply

